the year of lyrics: a poetry project

my search for inner-peace, one poem at a time

Day 389 – At Candlelight

Leave a comment

As I look back on these days when I committed to this cause,
Perhaps I didn’t anticipate the effect it would have on me.
And as it comes to a close, I worry that I will lose touch with myself.

What started as a simple attempt to better my inner-self
Formed into an effort of greater proportions and purpose
A journey from which something novel materialized

What I hoped to put into words, I found I could perform
I could act, and be, and love in a deeper way
I could live in my surroundings with all five senses.

I learned to not dwell too much on my thoughts,
For once they made their way to the page
I was at peace with my deepest quarrels.

I could analyze, hate, and love everything at once
And was okay with not making sense
I learned to be kind to every occurrence

Each experience and mishap could transform
Depending on whether or not I wanted them to
And each blank slate was a fresh start

I hope to find more new beginnings
New canvases to paint my mind onto
So I may unload all of my dreams and desires

I do not know of the next form this slate will take
But I hope it can cleanse me as powerfully
And carefully, as this journey has.

Thoughts? Feel free to share!

