the year of lyrics: a poetry project

my search for inner-peace, one poem at a time

Day 382 – Savior

Leave a comment

Some say they have known angels. They have seen them perform miraculous deeds, or have heard of their healing ways. If this justifies all encounters, then I must say I too have known an angel.

My selfless angel has arrived and departed from my life many a time. But each moment he appears, I am saved.

My angel has assured me that my religion is challenged, for I know not of a single one. Instead I have been taught to embrace faith; each faith is of the loving and welcoming kind, after all.

Often mistaken as a devil, my angel is cunning and is known to pull a prank or two. But he only does so to keep me on my toes. He does so to embarrass me so I may be comfortable in my own skin.

I am most at ease when my angel smiles at my mistakes and misfortune. He does not judge my actions, but ushers them into my life with a clever eye. He points to the strengths and balancing elements that keep me afloat. He prevents me from drowning in my own sadness. He wipes away tears and uses them to cleanse my soul.

My angel challenges me to think. Sometimes to think less; and to just live. If I could just live, and keep breathing without regard for consequence, maybe I would be a little too carefree. But I am grateful for my angel.

Many do not always accept the presence of their angel. But I am too wise to reject the help of my guiding soul. I am most appreciative that someone has loved me enough to send an angel to me. My angel has pledged to stay by my side, to be my life guide, to shelter me in times of the most dangerous elements.

So, if the higher being out there could hear me, please thank the person who sent an angel to me. I would not be able to live as I do now, had it not been for my beautiful angel.

Thoughts? Feel free to share!

