the year of lyrics: a poetry project

my search for inner-peace, one poem at a time

Day 376 – Speaking

Leave a comment

Generally speaking, I speak easy but hardly
I hardly speak to tell anything but truth
And to unload story after story after story
This is my story:

Everyday, like every day,
I breathe in and out without hesitation
Sometimes pulled with gravitation
Toward other verses

Sometimes untold, I unfold
Each letter, as if reading words from a lover;
Sentences strung together to record
Daily dealings from another

My unyielding vocal power
Forces me to deliver each syllable
Powerful yet variable
Balancing sounds at the tip-top of the tongue.

Then it is over – done
Back to square one
And I’m left with leftover letters
Which clutter my diction

Stutters are blended with
Apologetic eyes, oh why
Do I tell such lies if I can barely keep
A dead story alive?

Thoughts? Feel free to share!

