the year of lyrics: a poetry project

my search for inner-peace, one poem at a time

Day 369 – Caught Off Guard

Leave a comment

Such woe, you have thrust upon me
You, the messenger,
bears news harsher than piercing screams.
I force myself to avoid it,
Which has led me to this debacle of painful sorts.
I have become bound by the intricate web you’ve woven.
Like the spider’s prey, I am caught off guard.
It is as if you have chosen this heartache
For others to soak into their skin.
Perhaps this gives justification for
Our poor habits of wasting away indoors,
As the downfall surrounds the home
We are trapped.
Stuck between what is real and a dream,
If it is not the former,
Someone wake me from this dream.

Thoughts? Feel free to share!

