the year of lyrics: a poetry project

my search for inner-peace, one poem at a time

Day 357 – Should We Meet Again

Leave a comment

“This year, don’t waste your time making new friends. Invest in your closest friends, because they’ve invested in you.” – Anonymous

Don’t be offended (or misguided)
I just needed time cleverly divided
I’ve allocated certain days and
Time frames to those that make the cut

Indeed, I drew up a list
Consisting of twenty to thirty
And upon careful consideration,
I added a few more here and there

Time diminishes into past
And those most worthy were the ones
Who I found great comfort and company
They are the ones who reach out to me

So, why is it so hard to stay friends?
I have a rule that if I do not hear from you
Your life must be perfect without me in it
And with that I carefully select those worth my time

You see, as years go by,
I find it hard to keep a single friendship
As space tends to get in the way
With busy schedules and rain checks

And once our days come to a close
We will never be able to revert
Into this specific lifestyle
We will transform moments into memories

So if this is all that is left for us
I want to thank you for being a quizzical piece
This puzzle is also complete
Good luck in the future, should we ever meet.

Thoughts? Feel free to share!

