the year of lyrics: a poetry project

my search for inner-peace, one poem at a time

Day 351 – Open Mic Blues

Leave a comment

I’ve got a life full of lessons
I’m not afraid to preach
Read into them or listen
This is all I beseech
For this is a blur
In the memory you’ll take
You hear these words tonight
But of it, what will you make?
I stand here before you now
A servant at your feet
Will you dismiss my stack of triumphs
Will you embrace my defeat?
I am merely an artist
With courage to last for days
But tonight it’s in short supply
As it is turning into haze
So if you must hear one thing tonight
I hope that it is this:
Talking during my performance
Is not easily dismissed.

Thoughts? Feel free to share!

