the year of lyrics: a poetry project

my search for inner-peace, one poem at a time

Day 317 – Chocolate Brown

Leave a comment

I pride myself in my chocolatey-brown skin
Skin that’s been dipped in natural light,
Yes, the sun provides the warmest blanket I’ve ever known

Back in the day, Dad would prop us up individually in his hands
Sunning us in the backyard
Ridding of our pale, yellow skin,
Waving goodbye to our shut eyes

We’d blend into the neutral tones of dusted plains
Browned, not burned
Until we were distinguishable

The heat was comforting,
It continued to be so
As I would spend
Day after day, hour after hour outside
Marching around with young stomps
Leaving behind cheerful footsteps

Steps turned to prints
Prints turned to principles
As I learned to leave behind some tracks
To help me navigate a way home

Nevertheless, forming and finding my identity
Well, that’s been a little bit more tricky for me.

Thoughts? Feel free to share!

