the year of lyrics: a poetry project

my search for inner-peace, one poem at a time

Day 301 – Take Care of Each Other

Leave a comment

Take care of each other. Each of you are important. You are not expendable. This is a small community. -D.S.

Fearful one with smiling eyes.
I know your secret.
I was once in your shoes,
As many before me have been.
Quietly unlacing the leather flaps,
That bind together your dignity.

I hear you shouting for help,
Though in this deafening room you know
That many do not hear you.
I’ve heard you scream at night,
And run from nightmares of misery.
I understand your worry,
I too have held your woes.

But you are not alone.

Did you know, each night,
I make wishes for you?
I pray for you to meet my friend, Content.
She’s quite a catch.

I know you’re a little bit preoccupied with
Sadness and Mistrust.
But you can trust me.
I promise to be in your heart always,
As I have loved you from the very moment you looked my way.
And even though we never speak,
I can still hear your voice.

Know that I am here, returning your call.
At first you may hear nothing but a whisper,
But know that I too am screaming at the top of my lungs.
I’m reaching out for you, with my hands searching in darkness.

But I will not stop looking for you.

Thoughts? Feel free to share!

