the year of lyrics: a poetry project

my search for inner-peace, one poem at a time

Day 300 – Because of Annie

Leave a comment

Over hot bowls of body-warming soup, I spoon-fed my soul with comfort.
And though the chill of Winter bit at my fingertips, I was rewarded.
With reconnected friendships, I am learning to melt away the ice.
Over plates of pasta, piled high with sausage and seasoned meat.
And with smooth forks and spoons in my hands, I was ready.
With a dash of laughter and some freshly grated Parmesan.
Over a serving of sweet Tiramisu. Coffee-stained ladyfingers.
And with smiles over future travels, I am learning to dream again.
No I’m not alone; this is what it’s like to simply be a friend.

Thoughts? Feel free to share!

