the year of lyrics: a poetry project

my search for inner-peace, one poem at a time

Day 270 – Reconsider

Leave a comment

Dearest Independence,

Might I have a word with you? I know you mean well, but I can’t read you too well. I’ve tried to be patient, but patience does not always pay off. And let’s just face it: you come at too high a cost.

You see, I was taught to stand up for what I believe in. And if there’s ever a choice to take action, well I better choose it. Because if you don’t act, then you lose it.

What I really want is to be free to rise like the morning sun, but whenever you evade me, I feel crushed. After a freshly squeezed glass of orange juice, I am what remains: the pulp. Squished and reduced to what would be discarded. I am what is left, and I am left disregarded.

Sometimes I think you like to ignore my pain, my hurt. And watch me toil in turmoil as I’m driven insane, and you kick up the dirt. You watch me scream, and somehow I know you’re just building self-esteem.

You’re jealous of me, but the truth is you’re usually alone. You wallow in your own pride in the seat of your throne. You’re righteous and self-assured, and you use it in your favor. But just so you know, sometimes you’re too sour to savor.

See, what you’re missing, is that balance of dependence. Relying on others for your own calming transcendence. You’re avoiding pure movement between chaos and peace; instead you shoot straight for the West or the East. You avoid North and South, for they are polar directions. When in fact, you should learn from all of life’s lessons.

So before you go on steering others astray, I advise that you broaden your vision to a larger array. Do not focus on just advancing. Without the support of at least a few; your goals will be hard no matter how many you attend to.

Thoughts? Feel free to share!

