the year of lyrics: a poetry project

my search for inner-peace, one poem at a time

Day 239 – Arrival

Leave a comment

I searched through towers
Stacked high above the ground
Hesitant piles, ready to fall
And lose balance

I drove miles through exhaust
Billowing from metal machines
On miles of pavement, waiting to trip me
With rugged potholes

I impatiently contemplated
On seemingly plush and comfortable
Cushions and curves, swallowing me
Into the coldness of its clutches

I anxiously chased thoughts
And reality at late hours
Disturbed by inhibition, pressuring me
To give up and give in

But I received compassion
Without my own action
It arrived so unexpected, grinning at me
With faith and affirmation

Thoughts? Feel free to share!

