the year of lyrics: a poetry project

my search for inner-peace, one poem at a time

Day 222 – Do Without

Leave a comment

If I had to do away with
Everything unneeded in my veins
I’d willingly give up all that has
Wrapped its greasy grip around me.
I would forgo my precious naïveté,
Which has held me in suspended bliss for too long.
I would sacrifice my sarcasm,
Which always leaves a bitter taste in my mouth.
I would abandon my abhorrence,
Which showcases my petty discomfort for all that is unsatisfactory
And I would surrender my cynicism,
For it never shows me mercy, only heartache.

Thoughts? Feel free to share!

