the year of lyrics: a poetry project

my search for inner-peace, one poem at a time

Day 201 – Page-Turning

Leave a comment

A long time ago,
Flipping through crinkled and creased pages was as adventurous as I could get.
Pressed ink could transform my reality into a wondrous world,
And I would dance on beautifully-bound covers.
Oh sweet, powerful pages that I could call mine…
Stories would go on endlessly through time.
If I could go back, I’d climb back up the shelves,
Where whispers were the secret language of the land.
And I’d tremble if voices went even a decibel higher than I was used to.
Magnificent journeys would welcome me each minute,
And stories of pride and shame would intersect.
I toured this world often,
Arriving home, after a day out in the sun,
Of carving away at the earth, with water from the hose,
I’d reenter my secret place of dreams,
Where text had meaning beyond the seams.
If only I could go back to a time, where I’d have time,
To explore books for pleasure
‘Cause right now my bookshelf is my most valuable treasure.

Thoughts? Feel free to share!

