the year of lyrics: a poetry project

my search for inner-peace, one poem at a time

Day 155 – Worth Every Cent

Leave a comment

It all falls down, but it falls into place
So we can all start washing the tears from each face
Wipe your brow now, and keep that head high
In fact I want you to look to the sky
See your dreams in the clouds? Impossible? No.
In fact, I command you to chase them, now go.
Push forward stubbornly, hell, scream it out loud
I won’t care if you stumble, ‘cause baby I’m proud
I’ve got faith in you, so I want you to feel it
‘Cause it was worth every cent, no one had to steal it
For you’ve earned this pedestal, go on – take a seat
I’ll respect you forever; you stood up to Defeat
And you embraced Hate, despite his attack
Look at you now, the real you is back
You’re beautiful, I tell ya, odds are in your favor
It’s this taste of fulfillment that I want you to savor

Thoughts? Feel free to share!

