the year of lyrics: a poetry project

my search for inner-peace, one poem at a time

Day 150 – Boiling

Leave a comment

All the same,
It’s really all the same
Pressured by the anger
Pulsing through my veins
And I’m sorry if you’ve heard
My blood knows how to boil
But this is a pyre
From which I cannot recoil

It’s a bit hard to breathe
When you’re up to your knees
In thick quick sand
Without the shade of courageous trees
But, if you please, listen to me,
Lend an ear and an arm
Retreat from your attack,
Show me no more harm

You’re forgiven if I’m forgiven
It was no simple mistake
For in peace and in war
Honesty I did not fake
Yes I fail to harbor the capacity
To wreak havoc that you claim
But if this is the best we’ve got
I’ll gladly take the blame.

Thoughts? Feel free to share!

