the year of lyrics: a poetry project

my search for inner-peace, one poem at a time

Day 148 – Sunny Days, Sky of Grays

Leave a comment

I can keep the juiciest secrets
I will hide from you countless stories
Secrets you’d want to know
And I do
I’ve kept it all under lock and key
Hidden like in hide and seek

Remember those days?
Back when backyards were the coolest places to be
For they could hold vast waterways
Mystical gardens
Promises of yesterdays
Hey, can you come out and play?

Building fortresses with vines
Potions with berries of the oddest kind
Jumping into hopscotch squares
Without any hesitations or cares
And tossing all ten toes
Into ropes as rhythm flows

As I take in each gulp of sweet lemonade
I promise to hold on tight
Like when we’d cross the street hand in hand
I will keep it all beneath the surface
Even if it tastes bitter, bland
I’m forgetting the youth in me
I don’t know why, I don’t understand

Thoughts? Feel free to share!

