the year of lyrics: a poetry project

my search for inner-peace, one poem at a time

Day 121 – Are They Blind?

Leave a comment

Why can’t they see
That I am unable to meditate here?
Between the dew on the grass and the thick aloe plants
My compass fails me

She’s leaving again, He’s leaving again
Why do they always have to go?

I try to hold in the sadness
Though it reflects in puddles at my feet
And it freezes with the snow, into sleet

And sometimes I awake from my slumber
Drenched in nervous sweat
Trickling down my cheeks

Never lost, but mostly misplaced
My longing thoughts do not easily precipitate
For the vapor stays, contributing to the tributary of my tears

Why can’t they see that we’re a little bit more broken every time they leave?
And how is it that they do not notice the tears on my sleeve?

Thoughts? Feel free to share!

