the year of lyrics: a poetry project

my search for inner-peace, one poem at a time

Day 119 – One Day…*

Leave a comment

Ahem

Dear Miss You-Know-Who,

I must have been fifteen when I first met you
I thought you could be someone to rely on
But like most times before, I found out I was wrong

And naturally, you just took your own course
With an impulsive, intensive, serious force
Unannounced, you had began to intrude
But because I love you, I could never be rude

So even though you can just ruin my day
You remind me to cast my worries away
Because when you’re not there, I anticipate hell
But when you are there, I don’t take it too well

Yes, when we first met, I was running with the rain
And you hit me head on, without any pain
Hours later I knew you had changed my life
(And one day I will thank you)

Signed,
Future Mother & Wife

*This poem has been edited since it’s original posting.

Thoughts? Feel free to share!

