the year of lyrics: a poetry project

my search for inner-peace, one poem at a time

Day 116 – Fair Warning

Leave a comment

Today, I remain unscathed
Though scars may tell you otherwise
And I’ll wear my own stern look
Though my stomach is tickled by butterflies

And I’ll hold in each gasp of air
Even if I’m above the surface
And if I’ve misplaced my composure
I’ll pretend I still own my purpose

For If I am held hostage
And weakened at the knees
I shall slyly use my finesse
And my enemy I shall appease

I cannot foresee my foe’s actions
But I can surely prepare
For beside my soul, the sign does read:
I’ll break your heart, beware

Thoughts? Feel free to share!

