the year of lyrics: a poetry project

my search for inner-peace, one poem at a time

Day 111 – Nuisances and the (Sarcastic) Truth: A Series of Late Night Limericks*

Leave a comment

The Impolite Me
I tried, but fell to my knees
I offered to pay all the fees
Though I struggled with might
I could not cause a fight
And I gave up the magic word: “Please”

Dear Exams,
Nah, I don’t want to know you
You just spit us out when you’re all through
You take too much
And have the coldest touch
And I don’t care that my paper’s still overdue

On My Honor
Yes, you are a cheat
Your words are filled with deceit
Your prices are severe
Still, I buy cookies each year…
Just give me my damn receipt

The Opposite Sex
They vaporized the joy that I sent
They lost the love that I lent
Yet, for hours I’ve wept
It is still hard to accept:
Their hearts are made of cement

Hey Asshole
Do I look like a fine cut of steak?
Or a slice of sweet Angel cake?
You must be confused
I’m hardly amused
‘Cause it’s your jaw that I’ll surely break

*Disclaimer:
These were a little too much fun to write;
Yet I know they are shed in an honest light.
And while you may think
My filter fell down the sink
I never said my words would be polite.

Thoughts? Feel free to share!

