the year of lyrics: a poetry project

my search for inner-peace, one poem at a time

Day 106 – Too Lucid

Leave a comment

I am not so pleased to inform you
As I bring news that you may not want to hear
For it’s the early mornings like these
That cause you just as much trouble as they provide peace of mind

But before you decide anything
You should know that:
Yes, I am used to it
It doesn’t phase me any longer
Rejection?
Well, let me just be euphemistic
Toss in my habit of being sarcastic

And while I offer myself
My whole self, the sum of my parts
You are not expected to take me
In fact, I don’t expect anything from you
Nothing

Why should I, though?
Give me one good reason on why I should expect more
Is it not better that I expect worse-case scenario?
Or rather, nothing at all?

So when you do present me with your best
I’ll be the least bit surprised
Think you can do that?

Thoughts? Feel free to share!

