the year of lyrics: a poetry project

my search for inner-peace, one poem at a time

Day 84 – Unlocked by Ink

Leave a comment

Let me just cut open this partially-healed wound, pour some salt into it, and soon, watch it burn and bubble like a tortured snail. And while you complain because your skin is so frail, let your heart become derailed. Your course may be set for now, but the train tracks, they will change, so you can sit back and relax, while I prepare to present these once falsified facts. I’ll rearrange the carefully laid metal and wood, and while you think I’m up to no good, know that I am here to merely show you all that you haven’t seen before. ‘Cause before those once-upon-a-times and happily-ever-afters, there were no fairytale endings or beginnings. Still, there is no way of telling between the ups or downs, ‘cause the world is too busy spinning. So while you think that you are living, let me just remind you to take truth with you in all that you do, for each action should be an honest interaction and reaction, despite all the shit you have to wade through. Drive on with your passion, but hide your inhibitions and disparities. If you need me too, I’ll give you the clarity, the crystal clear glass that you need to live. Yes, in order to be calm and free, you can pour all that liquid into me. Drink up when you’re ready to breathe. Look up when you’re ready to see.

Yes, let me just cut open this kind-of healed wound, an almost matured scar, evidence of your work on the battlefield, where danger was expected, never rare, after all, didn’t I just say love is never fair? For fairness is something we cannot attain. Our country slaved to achieve equality, and yet, here we are, still stuck in this plague of poverty, stereotypes, a tainted culture, a world-view that is far too limited to challenge us to do more. Fuck, they’ve clipped our wings so we are not free to explore, nor soar, to new heights? New possibilities become impossible, and our future has become improbable, this lifestyle becomes unsustainable, chaos remains unstoppable, suffering become unpredictable.

Yes, let me cut open this not-so-much healed wound, ‘cause even though I can sugar-coat, I can also expose and remind you. All I ask is for you to tell me what to do. I’m here to serve, I’ll be your crying shoulder, I’ll be your heroic soldier… I can support you, I can guide you, I can teach you, so decide, it’s up to you.

Thoughts? Feel free to share!

