the year of lyrics: a poetry project

my search for inner-peace, one poem at a time

Day 75 – Such a Pity

Leave a comment

Brainwashing your mind every day
Staring and staring until your mind’s on replay
Stuck, no chained, to the chair where you lay
I’m terrified that you’re wasting away

No, in fact I know, that’s the meal that you choose
Eyes glued to the “window”, it’s yourself you abuse
You masochist, you let each punch leave a bruise
As you stare at the face of your new mystic muse

Though you look into the future, the present, the past
I pity you, shallow soul, so tied to this mast
As you sail on this ship, where I’ll put you on blast
For the sound is quite cryptic, the speed is too fast

Listen, mates, gather, for I’ve a story to share:
I know I’m a bit biased, but I’ll try to be fair,
See this pitiful American, who shows not how to care?
Forever before that monitor, ignorance he shall wear.

Thoughts? Feel free to share!

