the year of lyrics: a poetry project

my search for inner-peace, one poem at a time

Day 72 – You’re a Cruel One

Leave a comment

You carry me, lift me, push me, pull me
Compel me without convincing
Keeping mind constantly spinning
Drive me insane so I cannot even focus

And you happen when it’s most unnecessary
Thanks to you, you burn my whole body
Branding me, swiftly cutting into my flesh

And suddenly it’s permanent
I’m tainted
Or I’m back at square one

But after all these wrong turns
And poor decisions
Steps will be taken backward
But also: forward

And in lieu of this hellish place
One thing I know I must say:
Insanity, please wipe that smirk off your face

Thoughts? Feel free to share!

