the year of lyrics: a poetry project

my search for inner-peace, one poem at a time

Day 52 – Caught Up

Leave a comment

How do you extract the images? The feelings? The emotions?

I woke up this morning dreaming. Leaving the dream, I realized I didn’t want to go.

I woke up for the first time: longing. Craving. My soul depraved of what could not be saved. Or could it be?

Do not judge me. For I have been where I’ve needed to be. I’ve seen that which I’ve needed to see.

I’ve planted these trees right in front of me. Hoping that they can grow symbiotically. Depending on each other, they can learn to love one another.

Yeah, I woke up this morning wishing. Hoping. Lost in a sea of too many dreams.

So you ask: “But, why?”

Because I started it. I always do. I start thinking, until thoughts consume me. And I fall asleep, and the dreams pour in. And I am engulfed once more.

It’s cyclical. Continual. Always returns, something too difficult for me to burn. The hardship that I am too stubborn to really learn.

I woke up this morning, remembering. And like flash flood, it took me by surprise. Sweeping me away. Washed me away.

But it cleanses me. Am I allowed to say that? After the storm, my mind is always a little more clear. There is more space for me to use. I can fill it up once more with anything I choose.

So even if I want to empty everything, I know I must keep some of these thoughts. They are neither good nor bad. They are wishes. Just wishes. So I’ll just wish away…

Thoughts? Feel free to share!

