the year of lyrics: a poetry project

my search for inner-peace, one poem at a time

Day 10 – Mere Discontent

Leave a comment

So there I was feeling calm, pleasant thoughts and content
Accepting encouraging words that all of my friends sent
I recall the yesterdays when I seemed happy and so sure.
I recall the days when I felt no envy, and knew my joy was pure.
… And then it hit me. Like a crashing wave upon the sand.
This time of the year is one I cannot understand.
I want to leave, to escape, but at the same time I know I don’t.
I want to move on and let you go, but my mind and heart won’t.

Thoughts? Feel free to share!

