the year of lyrics: a poetry project

my search for inner-peace, one poem at a time

Day 9 – Don’t Worry: Hate Isn’t Forever

Leave a comment

Oh, you want to play that game?
You think you’re winning too?
I can play it better
I can play it better than you do

You insult my perceptiveness?
You think I don’t know what’s going on?
You tried to make me think
That I was doing something wrong

The funny thing is you don’t know
The hate you have created
But guess what, I saw this coming
Your carelessness I anticipated

And also, I fucking know
All the tricks you were gonna pull
So next time you try to cross me
I won’t call you a selfish fool

I won’t be rude to you
Like the way you were to me
And I don’t mean to call you out (actually I do)
So I think I’ll let it be

I won’t call you a coward
I won’t call you a soul-less ass
I won’t call or even speak to you
‘Cause I know you’ll come in last

Yes, I come in first
I’m gonna beat you to the finish
And as I approach my own victory
My hate for you will diminish

Thoughts? Feel free to share!

